Florida Beaches that are Open for 4th of July

American flag on building

Fourth of July in 2020 is a bit complicated during the corona-virus pandemic. Many families want to go to the beach or spend time together in big gatherings. Many beaches in Florida are closed like in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach Counties.

But if you are living in those counties and want to travel a bit to go to the beach, here are some beaches that are open during the Fourth of July 2020 weekend:

  • Indian River County, which includes Golden Sands, Wabasso Beach, Tracking Station Beach, Round Island Beach, the east end of Beachcomber Lane and Indian River Shores.
  • Escambia County, which includes Pensacola Beach, Perdido Key and Santa Rosa Island
  • Santa Rosa County, which includes Navarre, Gulf Breeze and Santa Rosa Beach.
  • Okaloosa County, which includes Fort Walton Beach and Destin beaches (Henderson Beach, James Lee Beach, Princess Beach, Matterhorn, White Point, and some Eglin Air Force off-base beaches).
  • Walton County on the Emerald Coast, which includes Rosemary Beach, Santa Rosa Beach and Miramar Beach
  • Bay County, which includes beaches on the Gulf Coast in Northwest Florida, Mexico Beach and Panama City Beach.
  • Gulf County
  • Franklin County, which includes St. George Island, Apalachicola, Carrabelle and Alligator Point
  • Wakulla County, which includes Wakulla Beach
  • Taylor County in the Big Bend of Florida, which includes Keaton Beach
  • Dixie County, which includes Horseshoe Beach, in the Big Bend of Florida
  • Levy County, which includes beaches in north-central Florida and the city of Cedar Key
  • Citrus County, which includes Fort Island Gulf Beach
  • Hernando County, which includes Pine Island Park
  • Pasco County, which includes New Port Richey, Port Richey and Hudson Beach
  • Pinellas County, which includes ‎Indian Rocks Beach, ‎St. Pete Beach, ‎Howard Park and ‎Madeira Beach
  • Hillsborough County, which includes Apollo Beach, St. Pete and Cleatwater
  • Manatee County, which includes Anna Maria Island and Bradenton Beach
  • Sarasota County, which includes Siesta Beach, Venice Beach, and Turtle Beach
  • Charlotte County, which includes Englewood and Port Charlotte beaches in Punta Gorda
  • Lee County, which includes Fort Myers Beach, Captiva and Sanibel Island
  • Nassau County, which includes Fernandina Beach, Long Beach, Lido Beach and Atlantic Beach
  • Duval County in Northeast Florida, which includes beaches in Jacksonville — Jacksonville Beach, Neptune Beach and Atlantic Beach
  • St. Johns County in the Northeastern Coast includes St. Augustine Beach, Ponte Vedra Beach and Crescent Beach
  • Flagler County, which includes Flagler Beach, the Palm Coast and Beverly Beach
  • Volusia County, which inludes Daytona Beach, New Smyrna and Ormond Beach
  • Brevard County, which includes Melbourne Beach, Indialantic, Indian Harbour Beach, Satellite Beach, Patrick Air Force Base beaches, Second Light, Cocoa Beach, Cape Canaveral, Jetty Park at Port Canaveral and Canaveral National Seashore
  •  St. Lucie County, which includes Blind Creek Beach, Blue Heron Beach, Coconut Drive Beach, Dollman Park Beach, Gulfstream Beach, Herman’s Bay Beach, and Jetty Park Beach.

Florida Beaches that are Closed

  •  Collier County, which includes Naples Beach and Marco Island. On Tuesday, Commissioners voted 3-2 to close beaches from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekends, including Friday ahead of the Fourth of July holiday.
  • Miami-Dade County
  • Broward County
  • Palm Beach County
  • Monroe County
  • Martin County

For the most part, Florida southern counties beaches are closed, but most of the central and northern part of Florida beaches are open.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.